Polyvore Procrastination

Polyvore.com’s been around for ages, but it was only yesterday, because I was lazy to do my homework, that I really got to explore it. For those of you that haven’t heard of it, Polyvore is basically a website that allows you to put together outfits from a huge (and I mean huge) database of clothes, shoes and bags from different brands. The labels range from the bottom of the fashion hierarchy like Topshop, all the way to its lofty top, like Hermes. You can probably imagine that I’ve been having a ball playing around with clothes I can only dream of affording. I’ve had such a grand time, in fact, that its been impossible to rip me away from my laptop!

Pardon my ditziness, but here are some of the ensembles I’ve put together (and badly laid out, my apologies)

Kate Middleton was the obvious inspiration for this outfit, which is monochromatic but full of texture. I’m in love with the combination of the white pencil skirt with black piping and the structured yet feminine lace top. For a touch of glam, I urged Kate (yeah, we’re close that way) to wear an avant-garde black fascinator and a antique beaded clutch.

Because I’m narcissistic, I was the inspiration for this next outfit. Wouldja look at those Balmain leather pants and bronze Giuseppe Zanotti heels? I die.

I had the most fun putting these two looks together, which is meant for my cousin Nami. I love teasing her that she’s ghetto, so I took the opportunity to take a page from Snooki’s book and amp up the tackiness. Furry leather gloves? Juicy couture backpack? Sequined hot pants? Transparent platform heels? Yessum, tackalicious!

My key words for these two outfits were playful and feminine, which so adequately describe my cousin Connie. I hunted down and “shopped for” (emphasis on the quotation marks) lots of Marc by Marc Jacobs pieces to complete this youthful look.

The green earrings are a dead giveaway, but I looked to Angelina Jolie’s effortless way of dressing to style these. Many find her style boring and matronly (probably Jennifer Aniston fans), but I think she looks sharp 24/7. The black + structured classics +  maxidresses + huge bags + gorgeous yet minimal jewelry + leather = my style icon! I especially loved how she wore leather in the premiere of Mrs. and Mrs. Smith:

Rawwwwr! No wonder Brad couldn’t keep his paws off this femme fatale!

And for my last look… I made this one for my sister Patty, but I thought of myself while putting it together.  The gown is a leather and jersey cutout Michael Kors gown, and I paired it with these to-die-for structural heels. The daytime look, on the other hand, is a mishmash of summer trends, all of which would look absolutely cute on Patty.

Polyvore, I love you for providing me with hours worth of entertainment, but I also hate you for distracting me from the mountains of work I have to do!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Polyvore Procrastination

  1. I like this weblog very much, Its a rattling nice place to read and incur information.

Leave a comment